RSS

Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

22 Oct

Title: Water for Elephants
Author: Sara Gruen
Pages: Paperback 335 pages
Publisher: Algonquin Books
Date Published: April 9th 2006
Genre: Literature, Historical Fiction, Romance
My Rating: 







Goodreads
Though he may not speak of them, the memories stilldwell inside Jacob Jankowski’s ninety-something-year-old mind. Memories ofhimself as a young man, tossed by fate onto a rickety train that was home tothe Benzini Brothers Most Spectacular Show on Earth. Memories of a world filledwith freaks and clowns, with wonder and pain and anger and passion; a worldwith its own narrow, irrational rules, its own way of life, and its own way ofdeath. The world of the circus: to Jacob it was both salvation and a livinghell.

Jacob was there because his luck had run out – orphanedand penniless, he had no direction until he landed on this locomotive ‘ship offools’. It was the early part of the Great Depression, and everyone in thisthird-rate circus was lucky to have any job at all. Marlena, the star of theequestrian act, was there because she fell in love with the wrong man, ahandsome circus boss with a wide mean streak. And Rosie the elephant was therebecause she was the great gray hope, the new act that was going to be thesalvation of the circus; the only problem was, Rosie didn’t have an act – infact, she couldn’t even follow instructions. The bond that grew among thisunlikely trio was one of love and trust, and ultimately, it was their only hopefor survival.
My Review
Aninety-something year old remembering his days working for a circus during TheGreat Depression.  Doesn’t sound asinteresting? Yeah that is what I thought until I read it and it was more thanjust a book to me.
This book hasjoined My Favorites list. I was not expecting much from this book; actually Iexpected to not like it. I only read it because the movie was coming out but Iseriously fell in love with it. A well-written and well-researched book. Veryunique and I really enjoy knowing that I learned a couple of things from itsince it is based on true historic events and I will admit I am not a bighistory fan so this helped me get into it.
I recommend thisbook to everyone, it is definitely a must read!
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 22, 2011 in 5 Stars, Review

 

Leave a Reply

 
