RSS

Awaken by Katie Kacvinsky

17 Jan
Title: Awaken
Author: Katie Kacvinsky
Pages: Hardcover, 320 pages
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Books for Children
Date Published: May 23rd 2011
Genre: Young Adult, Dystopia, Science Fiction
My Rating: 




Goodreads
Maddielives in a world where everything is done on the computer. Whether it’s to goto school or on a date, people don’t venture out of their home. There’s reallyno need. For the most part, Maddie’s okay with the solitary, digital life—untilshe meets Justin. Justin likes being with people. He enjoys the physicalcloseness of face-to-face interactions. People aren’t meant to be alone, hetells her.
Suddenly,Maddie feels something awakening inside her—a feeling that maybe there is adifferent, better way to live. But with society and her parents telling herotherwise, Maddie is going to have to learn to stand up for herself if shewants to change the path her life is taking.
Inthis not-so-brave new world, two young people struggle to carve out their ownspace.
My Review
When I first readthe summary for this book I was ecstatic to read it because since I lovetechnology I really wanted to go into a world where everything was based off ofthat. Once I began reading I started realizing it was going in a differentdirection than what I expected. Don’t get me wrong though, the idea was there,the story was quite interesting, there was just things missing in my opinion.The characters were great and it was good imagination I will give it that. I’llbe honest and say that it might be a great book for someone other than me, inwhich case I encourage anyone to give it a try.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 17, 2012 in 3 Stars, Review

 

Leave a Reply

 
